The Third Cold War

Charlie Accetta
3 min readFeb 15, 2020
https://www.trumpf.com/filestorage/TRUMPF_Master/_processed_/3/c/csm_Technology-Picture-Laser-Tube-Cutting_2013411d64.jpg

Are you now, or have you ever been?

I was once, but it was long ago.

*

Where were you? Who was there with you?

I don’t remember where I was or who I was with…

*

Nonresponsive. Try again.

I remember some faces. I can’t put any names to them.

*

What were they like?

They looked like me. They sounded like you.

*

Don’t fence with us. The sooner you cooperate …

The sooner you’ll let me go? I don’t think so.

*

Why do you hate America?

I don’t. Whatever made you think I did?

*

You were one of them. You still are as far as we can tell.

Them? Me? One of them? Not anymore. It was a mistake of youth.

*

An error in judgment?

A pretty blonde girl invited me to a party. I didn’t know it was that kind of party.

*

What was her name?

I don’t remember.

*

--

--

Charlie Accetta

What can I say? I do this thing. Otherwise, I'm a regular guy. I drive fast, when traffic allows. I use Just For Men liberally. And you're no better.